Welcome! The Story So Far…

Dear reader,

Thank you for joining and welcome to my new television production blog – this is all very exciting! My name is Lewis Wollington, I’m 17 years old and I’m currently studying for my A2 exams at Devonport High School for Boys, Plymouth. Subject wise, I take maths, geography, and of course, media studies. I’ve always been interested in the television industry, and behind-the-scenes shows such as Doctor Who Confidential really sparked something inside of me. From this early age I’ve always dreamed of going into the television industry, but it’s only the past few years where I’ve stopped dreaming, woken up and decided to make such dreams a reality.

Series 1 Boxset Full Case

The summer of 2013 was my first taste of television production. GCSE media studies required me to make two one-minute trailers advertising a TV programme I had created; and I got to go behind the video camera for the first time in my life. The result? A not too shabby first attempt at television production, but if I was going to go anywhere, I needed to do some learning – and fast. After this, I did a bit of character and storyline developing for The Paradox (the show I had created), as well as some new edits with both existing and unused footage. This kept me busy until the St Ives media trip – where I got to put my new skills into practice…

IMG_2904

The St Ives media studies trip happened in November 2014 and was my first taste of working ‘professionally’. I was put into a group with three other people and as a team we needed to create four different products to match four different briefs all in the space of five days. The first product needed to be created based on a script that had been given to us. The next had to be a music video for one of the songs on the CD provided, while the third was a trailer for a new romantic comedy. The fourth and final product was simply a two minute short film, a task I took on myself to write, direct, produce, edit, and even star in. The result gave our group the award for the best short film of the trip.

IMG_0102

After the St Ives trip, it was time to get on with our AS coursework. Based on the hit number 1 single Another Brick in the Wall by Pink Floyd, I produced the opening sequence for a TV show of the same name. The show I had created was a mockumentary set in a school, a gap in the market I had identified through market research. This piece of work also demonstrated my ability to use contacts to my advantage as I used teachers and students alike to star in my product. To date, this is the product I am the most proud of.

So this is the story so far. I will upload previous pieces of work onto the blog for you to see the products and progress I have made in the past, before going off to shoot some fantastic new footage in order to continue expanding my skillsets in the television production field. I hope you’re excited to see where this blog goes, I know I am. If you’d like to let me know how I’m doing, then please feel free to comment, all constructive criticisms are extremely welcome as they’ll only make me better.

Now sit back, put your feet up, and let me inform, educate, and entertain you!

Lewis Wollington

Leave a Reply

